Web Seminar

Join us on Thursday, January 14, 2021, from 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM ET to learn about the NASA Lucy mission to explore the Trojan Asteroids.

Two world-renowned scientists, Donald Johanson PhD and Hal Levison PhD, will discuss human’s passion for exploration and discovery through the lens of two “Lucys.” One — an upcoming NASA mission, led by principal investigator Levison, will be the first space mission to explore the Trojan asteroids — two groups of asteroids that lead and follow Jupiter in its orbit around the Sun. The other — a 3.2-million-year-old human ancestor fossil discovered by Johanson.

The NASA team chose to name the mission after this fossil because, just as the fossil provided unique insights into humanity's origin and evolution, the Lucy mission promises to provide a unique perspective into the origin and evolution of our solar system.

The Institute of Human Origins at Arizona State University, founded by Johanson, has created a contest for middle and high school students to explore the connection between these two Lucys and the spirit of exploration behind them both. For more information on the contest, which is supported by NASA, visit https://askananthropologist.asu.edu/lucy-in-space.

Register today to participate in this web seminar. Upon registering you will receive an e-mail confirmation including information about the program and suggested links to visit in preparation of the event. Additional information about the web seminar will be e-mailed to you days before the program.

New Users: Log in 15 minutes prior to the start time for an introduction to NSTA web seminars.

Each web seminar is a unique, stand-alone, program. Archives of the web seminars and the presenters' PowerPoint presentations will be available through the links on this web page. Read answers to frequently asked questions from participants.

For more information contact: webseminars@nsta.org

Presenters

Details

Date Thursday January 14, 2021 Time 7:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM CT / 5:00 PM MT / 4:00 PM PT Duration 60 Minutes Audience Middle & High Teachers of Science and Social Studies. Administrators. Parents and other individuals interested in science and science education.

Sponsors

National Science Teaching Association

NSTA conferences offer the latest in science content, teaching strategy, and research to enhance and expand your professional growth. Take advantage of this unique opportunity to collaborate with science education leaders and your peers.

All Events