Online Science Videos & Lessons for K-8
 

Web Seminar

Free Offering   |   Zoom Online Meeting

 

To register, Log in or Create a Free Account

Join us on Thursday, September 15, 2022, from 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM ET for another edition of NSTA's Science Update web seminars.

Did you feel it? An earthquake is a shaking movement of the Earth’s Crust as stress overcomes friction. This web seminar will provide basic background to help attendees make sense of this natural phenomenon.  Earthquakes, what they are, what causes them, what they can tell us about the Earth, and how we measure them will be covered.

Participants will also become familiar with a variety of resources from NSTA and other organizations that will help all learners uncover the science of earthquakes as well as be introduced to tools such as the MyShake App, the USGS "Did You Feel It” website, the IRIS Seismic Monitor, and Lastquake that provide multiple opportunities for users to actively engage in crowdsourced citizen science and really shake up their learning.

All individuals receive a certificate of participation and 100 NSTA activity points for attending the live seminar and completing the end-of-program survey. A certificate of participation is not awarded for watching the recorded version of the program.

We invite you to register for upcoming web seminars at NSTA.

Register today to participate in this web seminar. Upon registering you will receive an e-mail confirmation including information about the program and suggested links to visit in preparation of the event. Additional information about the web seminar will be e-mailed to you days before the program.

New Users: Log in 15 minutes prior to the start time for an introduction to NSTA web seminars.

Each web seminar is a unique, stand-alone, program. Archives of the web seminars and the presenters' PowerPoint presentations will be available through the links on this web page. Read answers to frequently asked questions from participants.

For more information contact: webseminars@nsta.org

Presenters

Details

Date Thursday September 15, 2022 Time 7:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM CT / 5:00 PM MT / 4:00 PM PT Duration 60 Minutes Audience All individuals interested in science and science education., specially teachers of science, parents, and science enthusiasts.

Sponsors

National Science Teaching Association

NSTA conferences offer the latest in science content, teaching strategy, and research to enhance and expand your professional growth. Take advantage of this unique opportunity to collaborate with science education leaders and your peers.

All Events