NASCAR 2022-23
 

Web Seminar

Join us on Thursday, March 9, 2023, from 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM ET for an edition of NSTA’s Science Update about food agriculture.

Humans have used a variety of ways to modify food crops to suit our needs and tastes for more than 10,000 years. Over this time, the plant scientists’ toolbox has grown: first with “traditional” tools (like cross-breeding, selective breeding, and mutation breeding) and later with modern tools (like genetic engineering and genome editing, which are faster and more precise). Today, more than 90 percent of U.S. corn, cotton, and soybeans are produced using genetically engineered varieties (often referred to as genetically modified organisms, or “GMOs”).

In this Science Update, the presenters will:

  • introduce the general topic of food agriculture and why humans modify food crops;
  • explain the tools used by plant scientists to improve food crops; and
  • share examples of genetically engineered food crops, such as a rice variety developed to address vitamin A deficiency in South and Southeast Asian countries.

All individuals receive a certificate of participation and 100 NSTA activity points for attending the live seminar and completing the end-of-program survey. A certificate of participation is not awarded for watching the recorded version of the program.

We invite you to register for upcoming web seminars at NSTA.

Register today to participate in this web seminar. Upon registering you will receive an e-mail confirmation including information about the program and suggested links to visit in preparation of the event. Additional information about the web seminar will be e-mailed to you days before the program.

New Users: Log in 15 minutes prior to the start time for an introduction to NSTA web seminars.

Each web seminar is a unique, stand-alone, program. Archives of the web seminars and the presenters' PowerPoint presentations will be available through the links on this web page. Read answers to frequently asked questions from participants.

For more information contact: webseminars@nsta.org

Presenters

Details

Date Thursday March 09, 2023 Time 7:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM CT / 5:00 PM MT / 4:00 PM PT Duration 60 Minutes Audience All individuals interested in science and science education., specially teachers of science, parents, and science enthusiasts.

Sponsors

National Science Teaching Association

NSTA conferences offer the latest in science content, teaching strategy, and research to enhance and expand your professional growth. Take advantage of this unique opportunity to collaborate with science education leaders and your peers.

All Events