Explore our top Five Products for K-8 and High School
 

Web Seminar

Prepare yourself for the next solar eclipses! Join veteran astronomers and educators Dennis Schatz and Andrew Fraknoi on Thursday, October 20, from 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM ET for another edition of NSTA's Science Update web seminars.

The last visible eclipses in the continental U.S. until 2045 will be on Saturday, October 14, 2023 and Monday, April 8, 2024. While the annular eclipse (October 2023) and total eclipse (April 2024) will only be visible in a narrow band about 100 miles across, everyone in North America will see a partial solar eclipse, where a big “bite” will be taken out of the Sun.

In this Science Update, the presenters will:

  • introduce the general topic of eclipses and what they can teach us;
  • explain where, when, and how to safely view the two eclipses; and
  • suggest hands-on activities for classrooms and informal science settings. 

All individuals receive a certificate of participation and 100 NSTA activity points for attending the live seminar and completing the end-of-program survey. A certificate of participation is not awarded for watching the recorded version of the program.

We invite you to register for upcoming web seminars at NSTA.

Register today to participate in this web seminar. Upon registering you will receive an e-mail confirmation including information about the program and suggested links to visit in preparation of the event. Additional information about the web seminar will be e-mailed to you days before the program.

New Users: Log in 15 minutes prior to the start time for an introduction to NSTA web seminars.

Each web seminar is a unique, stand-alone, program. Archives of the web seminars and the presenters' PowerPoint presentations will be available through the links on this web page. Read answers to frequently asked questions from participants.

For more information contact: webseminars@nsta.org

Presenters

Details

Date Thursday October 20, 2022 Time 7:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM CT / 5:00 PM MT / 4:00 PM PT Duration 60 Minutes Audience All individuals interested in science and science education., specially educators of science and parents.

Sponsors

National Science Teaching Association

NSTA conferences offer the latest in science content, teaching strategy, and research to enhance and expand your professional growth. Take advantage of this unique opportunity to collaborate with science education leaders and your peers.

All Events