Amazon Virtual Field Trips - August 2021
 

Web Seminar

Join us on Thursday, December 2, 2021, from 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM ET to learn about false killer whales in the Hawaiian Islands and NOAA's efforts in helping to protect and recover their population.

False killer whales live throughout the world, but the ones found in the Hawaiian Archipelago are some of the most-studied—and rarest—marine animals. In this Science Update, learn about this species in general and get to know the main Hawaiian Islands insular false killer whale—an island-associated population that is genetically, behaviorally, ecologically, and culturally unique—and why they are endangered. This presentation will also introduce activities and resources to support classroom explorations, including how to be a community scientist and identify this species, how to report sightings and upload dorsal fin photos, and what you can do to help protect them.

We invite you to register for upcoming web seminars at NSTA.

Register today to participate in this web seminar. Upon registering you will receive an e-mail confirmation including information about the program and suggested links to visit in preparation of the event. Additional information about the web seminar will be e-mailed to you days before the program.

New Users: Log in 15 minutes prior to the start time for an introduction to NSTA web seminars.

Each web seminar is a unique, stand-alone, program. Archives of the web seminars and the presenters' PowerPoint presentations will be available through the links on this web page. Read answers to frequently asked questions from participants.

For more information contact: webseminars@nsta.org

Presenters

Details

Date Thursday December 02, 2021 Time 7:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM CT / 5:00 PM MT / 4:00 PM PT Duration 60 Minutes Audience All individuals interested in science and science education, specially teachers of science and parents.

Sponsors

National Science Teaching Association

NSTA conferences offer the latest in science content, teaching strategy, and research to enhance and expand your professional growth. Take advantage of this unique opportunity to collaborate with science education leaders and your peers.

All Events