Web Seminar

Join us on Tuesday, October 27, 2020, from 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM ET for another edition of the Teacher Tip Tuesday series focusing on data and science misinformation.

This panel presentation and discussion will explore the role media play in building scientific and mathematical understanding and the impact misinformation is having on how young people navigate their roles as both students and citizens.  The discussants will consider how best to evaluate the data and conclusions shared via mainstream and social media, especially in relation to the pandemic, the environment, the economy, and other current issues.  The session is designed to empower educators through both resources and techniques to deploy data literacy principles and media analysis. 

This event is a collaboration among The National Science Teaching Association, the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, Education Development Center, and the National Association for Media Literacy Education.

                              

Goal:

  • Educators gain new understanding of how media are impacting their students’ scientific reasoning and mathematical thinking
  • Educators have access to useful resources to integrate media literacy practices into their current instruction

Panel:

  • John Lin, Student, Boston Latin School
  • Patrick Honner, STEM Ambassador, NSTA/NCTM
  • Mia Moody-Ramirez, Journalism Chair, Baylor University
  • Tony Wan, Managing Editor, EdSurge

Register today to participate in this web seminar. Upon registering you will receive an e-mail confirmation including information about the program and suggested links to visit in preparation of the event. Additional information about the web seminar will be e-mailed to you days before the program.

New Users: Log in 15 minutes prior to the start time for an introduction to NSTA web seminars.

Each web seminar is a unique, stand-alone, program. Archives of the web seminars and the presenters' PowerPoint presentations will be available through the links on this web page. Read answers to frequently asked questions from participants.

For more information contact: webseminars@nsta.org

Details

Date Tuesday October 27, 2020 Time 7:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM CT / 5:00 PM MT / 4:00 PM PT Duration 60 Minutes Audience All individuals interested in science and science education., especially teachers of science and parents.

Sponsors

National Science Teaching Association

NSTA conferences offer the latest in science content, teaching strategy, and research to enhance and expand your professional growth. Take advantage of this unique opportunity to collaborate with science education leaders and your peers.

All Events