Web Seminar

Join us on Tuesday, October 26, 2021, from 7:00 PM to 8:15 PM ET to to discuss ways of building on traditional studies of carbon cycling to engage students in investigating the ecological value of individual trees and intact forests.

Students can measure local trees and calculate carbon storage in each tree. They can consider their data within the context of atmospheric CO2 levels, then investigate the influence of trees on local microclimates and zoom out to consider the role of the Amazon Rainforest in global carbon cycling and climate regulation. The presenters wrote From Local to Global: Calculating and appreciating the value of trees and forests, in the May/June 2021 issue of The Science Teacher. They will discuss ways of helping students recognize the ecological value of trees in their home communities, the Amazon rainforest, and other biomes.

All individuals receive a certificate of participation and 100 NSTA activity points for attending the live seminar and completing the end-of-program survey. A certificate of participation is not awarded for watching the recorded version of the program.

We invite you to register for upcoming web seminars at NSTA.

Register today to participate in this web seminar. Upon registering you will receive an e-mail confirmation including information about the program and suggested links to visit in preparation of the event. Additional information about the web seminar will be e-mailed to you days before the program.

New Users: Log in 15 minutes prior to the start time for an introduction to NSTA web seminars.

Each web seminar is a unique, stand-alone, program. Archives of the web seminars and the presenters' PowerPoint presentations will be available through the links on this web page. Read answers to frequently asked questions from participants.

For more information contact: webseminars@nsta.org

Presenters

Details

Date Tuesday October 26, 2021 Time 7:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM CT / 5:00 PM MT / 4:00 PM PT Duration 75 Minutes Audience Teachers of Science in grades 5-12, preservice teachers, administrators, and informal educators..

Sponsors

National Science Teaching Association

NSTA conferences offer the latest in science content, teaching strategy, and research to enhance and expand your professional growth. Take advantage of this unique opportunity to collaborate with science education leaders and your peers.

All Events