Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Unit Plan on Trees

Early Childhood

Unit Plan on Trees

Author Post
Susan Raphael Susan Raphael 2415 Points

Has anyone done a unit plan on trees or know of useful resources for planning lesson plans on trees? I am a graduate student pursuing my MAT working on a unit plan on trees targeted towards 2nd graders. My goal is for the unit to be hands on and interesting as well as informative. I have looked at the NSTA picture book lesson and I have this idea for the kids to look at tree rings as well as take a tree walk, but I am wondering if there are any other interesting ideas out there? Thanks in advance for your ideas. Susan

Lauren Bonnet Lauren Bonnet 16070 Points

In my class now we are doing tree observations. While on your tree walk you can have the students pick one tree they want to observe. They can visit that tree a few times a week and see what kind of changes the tree is going through such as the color of the leaves. They can bring a journal and draw a picture of what they see each day and record the weather outside. This can take course for a couple months so that they can notice a significant change in the tree.

Linda Ngo Linda Ngo 2775 Points

I would most likely have students to take a look at every tree by the playground and assigned them in groups. Then have them pick one of the tree to observe. They can explain what they look like and write them down. Afterward, they draw a picture of the trees they observed.

Holly Buten Holly Buten 740 Points

In my placement there is a tree outside of the window that they call their class tree. They go out and observe the tree 4 times a year and discuss how it has changes and what as made it change. They also draw a model of the tree each time so that they can compare how the tree looks in the different seasons. I think this is a good way to revisit previous lessons and ideas.

Kathy Renfrew Kathleen Renfrew 37148 Points