Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Advice for soon to be New Educators

New Teachers

Advice for soon to be New Educators

Author Post
Alexis Van Den Broek Alexis Van Den Broek 3800 Points

Hello,

I am in my final year of student teaching and will be graduating in April of 2022. I am curious as to what advice people have to offer to a soon to be graduate. I intend to apply for subbing positions if I do not have luck finding an immediate teaching job after graduation. I am starting to feel comfortable in my classroom management skills, but I am more so worried about conflict resolution skills. Our classes in school have not necessarily touched on this subject.

Vanessa Davis-Mireles Vanessa Davis-Mireles 1060 Points

Hi Alexis.

I to am in my last year of school and hope to graduate in December 2022 with a Bachelors in EC-6 with a concentration in Bilingual.  Although I have over 32 years of experience working with children in a classroom environment, I always have that one situation where I am lost of what to do.  However, the one thing that I have learned is ALWAYS implement your classroom management the first two weeks of school and be consistent. It is not going to solve all of your discipline issues but it gives you a head start to gain the respect of your students.  ALWAYS document anything that happens for your records and protection. I also recommend knowing ALL of your students background, their culture, keep communicating with their parents (not only for the bad but for the good things as well), and let your students know that you care for them even if they feel like no one else does.  Let them know, if they need help or someone to talk to you are there for them.  Being an educator, goes beyond just teaching.  We are their parents away from home.  Our profession is 7/24/365 and does not stop once we clock out.  Good Luck with your future endeavors and congratulations on your upcoming graduation.

Amanda Gonzalez Amanda Gonzalez 155 Points