Forums

General Science and Teaching

Late Work

Author Post
Michelle Sanders Michelle Sanders 540 Points

I teach middle school science, and I penalize my students when their work is turned in late. This is so that they learn the importance of deadlines and organization. I usually will give 1/2 credit for late work if work is turned in 1 day late, and after that it is a zero. Is this too much to expect in middle school though? What are some of your policies that you have for turning in late work? 

Amanda Wolfe Amanda Wolfe 16375 Points

Hi Michelle, I am a high school teacher. At my first school I had a similar policy but would allow students to recoup the other half of their credit for late work if they came in at lunch or for my after school tutorial to make it up. The policy in my department was half credit for work but I realized quickly, like Adeliz, that the students who were consistently turning in late work or worse no homework were the ones that had parents working overtime, or were responsible for siblings, or were having some major personal issues outside of class (depression, death or illness of a family member, drug abuse etc.) Of course there were my apathetic students too who I could never figure out but at least with this modification to the policy I could net a few of them. The extra time at lunch or tutorial provided them the focused work space that they may not get at home. It also gave me a chance to check in with them "conference" with them about what was going on. If late work was consistent then they would get a phone call home recommending that they attend my tutorials weekly so that they could get their homework done there. Again this worked for some students not all but there were definitely students that this helped tremendously. At the second school I worked at the grading policy separated the behavior of late or missing work from their grade entirely. We also had less homework and the students moved from class to class in cohorts so th