Forums

Forums / General Science and Teaching / Game-Based Learning

General Science and Teaching

Game-Based Learning

Author Post
Lindsey Fortmuller Lindsey Fortmuller 250 Points

Hi, my name is Lindsey Fortmuller, and I am a junior at Monmouth University. I am studying Early Childhood Education, Elementary Education, and Teacher of Students with Disabilities. Recently in my ED361 class, we have been discussing game-based learning. This is the idea of including a competitive aspect to a lesson to make students more encouraged to learn. Often, when students hear of a challenge, especially against their classmates, they are more excited and determined to do a good job. What are some ways that you implement game-based learning into your classroom? I have learned that it is important to have as many hands-on activities as possible. But for young learners this could be difficult to maintain. I want to be a Kindergarten, 1st or 2nd grade teacher, for people who teach or have taught those grades, what are some game-based lessons that have worked for your class in the past? What are some ideas or games that I should stay away from with younger children. Are there any tips or suggestions that will be helpful to know when keeping the children’s focus, as well as maintaining an organized classroom environment for game-based learning.  

Tierra Jenkins Tierra Jenkins 430 Points

Hi! I think some great game based learning games would be Kahoot. This great educational application can be used in the classroom, and mobile devices which allows them to practice at home. This app is fun and competitive which motivates students to try harder and use their critical thinking skills. 

Frank Marez Frank Marez 10 Points

You say very clever thoughts, I think game-based learning is a great idea.

Tristen Wheeler Tristen Wheeler 7550 Points