Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Plate Tectonics

New Teachers

Plate Tectonics

Author Post
Megan McCoy Megan McCoy 740 Points

I'm a new teacher and am teaching my 7th graders about Plate Tectonics. Any fun and interactive activities I can do with my students to help them learn this topic?? Thanks!

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92246 Points

Hi Megan and welcome to the discussion threads! Your students might like this interactive site on plates and boundaries and plate tectonics.
Also, there are some interesting contributions from other participants at this discussion thread: Earth and Space Science > pangea inquiry. You may find some fun ideas there, too. I look forward to others' ideas on this topic.
Carolyn

Megan McCoy Megan McCoy 740 Points

Thank you Carolyn! The website you gave me is great!

Jessica Peterson Jessica Peterson 2440 Points

Hi Megan, I am an elementary teacher, but I am sure that your students would love this activity. To get a visual model of how plates move you could use graham crackers and icing. Students will put the icing on wax paper and use the graham crackers as the plates. Students will get a visual of how divergent boundaries creates new land like the MidAtlantic ridge, how convergent boundaries can create mountains (you may need to wet the graham crackers a bit for that one) and how subduction zones work. I hope this helps. Here's a really good interactive site for students. I put this on my blackboard account and students can access it at home. http://www.learner.org/interactives/dynamicearth/index.html Good Luck, Jessica

Jennifer Rahn Jennifer Rahn 67955 Points