Forums

General Science and Teaching

Lab equipment

Author Post
Uma Mahajan Uma Mahajan 1630 Points

Hi, we are in the process of buying essential equipment for the science lab. I am a new teacher and I do not have any experience with these kind of purchases. What are some of the must haves for a high school science lab and what recommendations do you have for brands? So far, I came up with: 1) Microscopes with oil immersion lens 2) Autoclave (is this absolutely necessary?) 3) Incubator 4) Acid cabinet 5) Sensors and probess (any recommendations) 6) pH meter 7) animal habitat units 8)hot plates 9)Micropscopy stains 10) Chromatography paper 11) Chemistry models (Orbitals etc) Anything else? I would truly appreciate the brand names for the above items so I can look up the prices. (We cannot do high end equipment). Thanks,

Scott Albright Scott Albright 35 Points

When starting this process, it will be beneficial to think of categories of supplies/equipment/materials by course first I would suggest using these 4 general categories Lab equipment Lab supplies Teaching materials (models, Periodic Table, demos, etc) Safety equipment I have ordered for a new construction lab and a renovated lab before. The list could be endless depending upon budget, course, grade level,AP/IB/Dual Credit courses or not, space, how many rooms, how many rooms will teach multiple disciplines.... Using these categories should help frame your thinking. Also, when ordering...you can sometimes save money dependent on the size of the order. It pays to price things by lowest bidder and by bundling to make large orders with a big vendor for comparison. I would also look at general suppliers not just science so places like grainger for deals. -- *Regards,* *

Clay Waterbury Clay Waterbury 20 Points