Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Making Science FUN!

Elementary Science

Making Science FUN!

Author Post
Maria Stickley Maria Stickley 365 Points

As a young student, I wasn't very good at science. That is, until I went into the fourth grade. All of my teachers before the fourth grade were wonderful teachers but they didn't teach science in a way that interested me. It seemed like all we did was read about cool science experiments and then we would talk about them, but we never really DID them. In the fourth grade, my teacher had a much more hands on way of teaching. She believed that students learn best when they are actually experiencing science instead of just discussing it. We did so many cool experiments and we often went outside to look at different small ecosystems. By experiencing the science, we were provided with visual aids as well as hands-on learning, making it much easier for us to learn. As a teacher, I plan to teach science the same way that my fourth grade teacher did. Science is such an interesting subject, as long as it is taught in the right way. Science is everywhere, and I want my students to know that. I want them to look for science everywhere they go, whether it be their backyard or the classroom or the beach while on vacation. Students must be told that they ARE scientists, and they can easily get involved with science. I believe that students should be taught science in the most hands-on way possible, which is exactly how I plan on teaching my students. There are so many fun and exciting things for them to explore in the science world, they just need to be shown that it's not work... it's fun!

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92246 Points

Hi Maria,