Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Incorporating Art with Science

Elementary Science

Incorporating Art with Science

Author Post
Nicole Orta Nicole Orta 1015 Points

I believe that art plays a major role in a child's life, and should be incorporated into other subjects as much as possible, especially for the youngest students. Some ideas could be: drawing different trees to demonstrate all four seasons, drawing and labeling parts of an insect of other animal, or singing songs to remember the bones in the body. These ideas could spark a scientific interest in the students who lean more towards the artistic side of things, and other art ideas may allow for each individual to more freely express him/herself in the classroom. 

Theresia Fadhe Theresia Fadhe 4135 Points

Nicole Orta,

The idea of incorporating art into science is a great idea.  I am a music teacher for children from the age of 5 and up.  Currently, I am studying to be an elementary teacher with math as my major for middle school.  I have found the use of music and arts to be an excellent way to make science interesting to the students and make it easy for them to learn.

Nikki Ramos Nikki Ramos 305 Points

Hi Nicole, 

I completely agree that art is so essential for children (and people of all ages). Integration of the arts can also boost engagement in the classroom and could help with understanding for more visual and hands-on learners. I also believe that art can make subjects more accessible for struggling learners as well and being able to express themselves through art can be such an amazing thing, no matter what the subject matter is. I love your ideas of art integration and cannot wait to use them in my future classes! 

Ashley Canny Ashley Canny 1480 Points