Forums

Forums / Earth and Space Science / Solar System Lesson Plan

Earth and Space Science

Solar System Lesson Plan

Author Post
Quitney Price Quitney Price 105 Points

I am a student teacher at the University if Hawaii at Manoa. For one of our requirements, we are to come up with a unit plan that we will then execute during our final semester in the classroom. I have chosen to do my unit on the Solar System for the fifth grade. Our final project is to make a replica of the solar system as an entire class with pairs of students being "experts" with one planet. Does anyone have any advise with this or has done it in their own classroom? I considered having each group do their own replica but for the sake of time and resources have decided on one as a class. Any advice or resource would be greatly appreciated. 

LATTECIA KIRKLAND LATTECIA KIRKLAND 2915 Points

I think this would be a very interesting project and I hope it goes well. I like that your goal is for students to become experts in their given planets. It's wise decision to just make 1 replica for the class; although they will be working in pairs; in the end they would have all contributed to the replica for the class. Please let us know how it goes.

Ross Hirahara Ross Hirahara 360 Points

You've probably done this lesson already, but just my 2 cents. Definitely plan for them to have enough time to research and construct their projects. I've found that them taking home the projects either results in lost materials or one student in the group doing all the work. Therefore, I set aside only a certain amount of class time for them to work and give them a timeline of when the finished project is due! Also, besides a timeline, maybe a template of information they should have prior to starting will help guide them in the right direction. With NGSS coming, there are MANY more steps you can do to make this learning more meaningful. I hope it went well! 

Elizabeth Piet Elizabeth Piet 450 Points