Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Life Cycle Engage

Early Childhood

Life Cycle Engage

Author Post
Gloria Ortega Gloria Ortega 445 Points

Hello NSTA Community, I am a student teacher to 1st graders and we are going to start covering life cycles. What are some good ideas I can do in my engage section? 

Abbi Staack Abbi Staack 1985 Points

You could have students start a science notebook where they record observations through drawings or writing about plants, caterpillars, other insects, etc.! Anything hands on will be engaging!

Gabe Kraljevic Gabe Kraljevic 4564 Points

Hello Gloria,

There are many possibilities and I concur with many of the other replies - try to incorporate hands on as much as possible.  

One of the best ways is by growing plants from seeds. Using peas or beans you can show the different life stages with a minimal budget. I've seen seed packs in discount stores. I'm sure you're aware of the plastic baggie and wet paper towel activity. It is great! I recommend that you soak the peas or beans overnight before the students set up their little green house bags. In a short time students will see where plants come from and you can discuss the different parts of an adult plant. Go for a walk outside and have students identify the same structures in the plants and trees they see.  Flowering plants reproduce via flowers - so get some cheap flowers and identify the parts.  Make sure to cut open the ovary and display the ovules waiting to be pollinated.  You can then bring in a discussion of pollinators. Do a little grocery shopping to get different fruits, pea and bean pods and identify the seeds (and have a snack!).  And where to fruits come from?  Flowers!