Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Food Chains

Elementary Science

Food Chains

Author Post
Gladys Gonzalez Gladys Gonzalez 610 Points

Hello, I am a student teacher in 2nd grade and we are currently learning about food chains. I am having difficulties finding hands on activities for students to really understand the concept, especially the transfer of energy from one organism to the next. The students want to draw the arrows the wrong way, and want something that is very concrete, so that they understand the transfer of energy from one organism to the next. Any resources would be greatly appreciated.

Jeff Torrance Jeff Torrance 560 Points

Hi, For a food chain activity I printed out a lot of pictures of animals and plants in a biome (eg Grassland) Grass etc. I would then order them in the room on a wall from the sun at the bottom sending energy to the plants. Then I would figure out all the animals that eat the plants an put them in the next layer. then the things that eat them and so on till I get to the apex predators. I changed the size of the pictures to also represent the numbers of the animals/plants. lots of grass eaters, less predators. Then I would also put a little arrow from each level back to the plants to represent the energy going back into the cycle from waste and decay. Its a good representation and there is a good amount of discussion and debate.

Sophia Fernandez Sophia Fernandez 3385 Points