Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / How to deal with behavior issues?

Early Childhood

How to deal with behavior issues?

Author Post
Garima Saxena Garima Saxena 1045 Points

Hello Everyone!

I recently started full-time with the Early Childhood Special Program. I would love to collect expert suggestions, some helpful hints, and experiences to deal with behavior issues. Sometimes, it is so confusing to choose between using a stern voice or showing affection by hugging and trying to talk the thing out. Any pointers to good resources are highly appreciated. Thanks!

Savannah Molina Savannah Molina 485 Points

As a substitute teacher, I have noticed that the class can instantly be settled down with a few stern words from a person of authority. However, it does not always work. Soemtimes the students misbehave because of some deeper reason. Maybe they are struggling with something at home. I suggest using a stern voice to make the students settle down, but if the behavior persists in a student, then it may be time to talk things out and ask if they are ok.

Meri Rosas Meri Rosas 523 Points

Hey there, 

I would say the best thing is to always talk the issue out. Maybe start with the stern voice and finish showing affection that way they still feel in safe place with the teacher, 

Peggy Ashbrook Peggy Ashbrook 10953 Points

Hi Garima, 

I've found the Conscious Discipline method to be very helpful.

https://consciousdiscipline.com/methodology/

'Conscious Discipline empowers us to be conscious of brain-body states in ourselves and children. It then provides us with the practical skills we need to manage our thoughts, feeling and actions.