Forums

Forums / New Teachers / 1st year teachers and parents

New Teachers

1st year teachers and parents

Author Post
Hailee Castro Hailee Castro 695 Points

I am a bit worried about how parents will feel knowing that their child is in a class with a first year teacher. Will they be extra critical of me or concerned that their child could be with a more experienced teacher receiving a better education? One of my credential professors mentioned that she believes parents will be excited that I am a new teacher with fresh ideas. What are your opinions and how should I handle it if parents are worried about my lack of experience?

Blanca Jackson Blanca Jackson 3490 Points

Hi I do have the same concerns. I will be graduating in May and sometimes I feel like I need more practice or experience. Next semester I will start student teacher two and hopefully, I will feel more confident by the time I graduate.

Blanca Jackson Blanca Jackson 3490 Points

Hi I do have the same concerns. I will be graduating in May and sometimes I feel like I need more practice or experience. Next semester I will start student teacher two and hopefully, I will feel more confident by the time I graduate.

Nanako Kaieda Nanako Kaieda 1850 Points

I am also having the same thoughts and after reading the replies to your post, it made me feel a little more at ease. Hope your first year is going well!

Manelle El-Negery Manelle El-Negery 1095 Points

I am also wondering this same thing, as I am in my first semester of student teaching. I have a baby face so it will be a dead giveaway I am a newer teacher, even before disclosing that I am. I am scared parents will think I am not competent enough or that I do not have enough experience to teach their children.

BRITTANY CAMPBELL Brittany Campbell 2050 Points