Forums

Forums / Next Generation Science Standards / Teaching Science Creatively

Next Generation Science Standards

Teaching Science Creatively

Author Post
Shannon Lydon Shannon Lydon 230 Points

I am wondering with the new school standards of 90 minutes in literacy and 90 minutes in math what are some creative ways to work in science throughout the day? What are the struggles of getting that science instruction in a short amount of time?

Trisha Knott Trisha Knott 2645 Points

Hello, 

I am currently studying Early Childhood Education at the University of Northern Iowa. This semester, I am takinga an elementary school science methods course. This is something we have talked about a lot in this course. How do we keep subjects like science and social studies from taking a back burner and not being taught, or only being taught very occassionaly. One way that I think this can be done is trying to fit science standards into Literacy lessons and math lessons. This can be done by using books that talk about science in your literacy lessons. I am attaching a link to a website that taks about how to effectively do this. 

http://www.ascd.org/publications/educational-leadership/mar11/vol68/num06/Teaching-Science-Literacy.aspx

Deborah Bronner Deborah Bronner 650 Points

I agree with the other replies -- sneak in some science in small bits during the day. Such as weather, the phases of the moon, anything about animals is always interesting and the latest in space travel for example.

Samantha Evans Samantha Evans 280 Points