Forums

Forums / New Teachers / New Teacher, Technology

New Teachers

New Teacher, Technology

Author Post
Sofia Mora Sofia Mora 710 Points

Hello, my name is Sofia, and this is currently my second semester in the education program. As a future elementary teacher, something that I am curious is how technology can be used inside the science classroom. Would students benefit more from class experiments or watching videos of the experiments? Since now a day’s students are taking online classes, do they prefer in class experiments and interactions? I personally liked and had lots of fun dissecting and attending science fairs in school. 

Alexis Feiden Alexis Feiden 715 Points

Hi, Sophia!

I am currently in my second semester of grad school and am not yet currently a teacher. Sounds like you and I are in the same boat! Hope things are going well for you! 

I am not sure that I am the best to give advice, but thought I might be a little help! Personally, I think it would be beneficial to do both online and in-person experiments and interactions! As far as I have learned, especially with the age we are currently in, online is going to be something that students need familiarity with in all subjects and aspects of life. However, I think it is also so important for students to get that hands-on experience! I think it can really drive a lesson home. Seeing an experiement done online and having students actually perform it would also meet the needs for both visual and kinesthetic learners! 

Hope this is helpful in some way! You will be a great teacher!! 

Alexandra Bender Alexandra Bender 1548 Points

Hi Sofia,