Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Motivation

Elementary Science

Motivation

Author Post
Jennifer Jones Jennifer Jones 2905 Points

A big concern of mine is to be able to keep my students motivated. Are there motivational techniques that you have been found to be successful in the later grades of fourth and fifth graders?

Karen Rivas Karen Rivas 835 Points

As a student teacher, I am always looking for ways to motivate my students before my lesson. In my case, the students I work with really enjoy watching small video clips on Brain-Pop in regards what we are going to learn, so most of the time that is what I do. In addition, I incorporate students' interests in my lessons in order to keep them engaged because it is very important that they are both motivated and engaged in order to for them to be ready to learn and explore the lesson.

Yara Botello Yara Botello 1115 Points

When it comes to motivations with my students, I have found that they relate more to things they can relate to. If it is something they know they are more motivated than lets say, seeing something new. As a student teacher, I have had to find ways to get my students excited about science. The best is always to find things that they can get their hands on.

Yara Botello Yara Botello 1115 Points

When it comes to motivations with my students, I have found that they relate more to things they can relate to. If it is something they know they are more motivated than lets say, seeing something new. As a student teacher, I have had to find ways to get my students excited about science. The best is always to find things that they can get their hands on.

Holly Kegler Holly Kegler 120 Points