Forums

Forums / Evaluation and Assessment / Favorite ways to assess students

Evaluation and Assessment

Favorite ways to assess students

Author Post
Hannah Happ Hannah Happ 310 Points

Hello everyone! My name is Hannah and I am a pre-service teacher majoring in Biology Secondary Education at Wartburg College in Iowa. Throughout my career, in most of my science classes, I have been given formative assessments as the main way to assess my understanding of the information. I was wondering if other people had some personal favorites in assessing students besides the basic formative assessment. One of my fellow classmates introduced the idea of an exit slip (student writes something they learned in class and one question they have turns it in before they can leave) this is a way I could see how students were understanding the topic and the misconceptions they might have. If you have any other tips or favorites I would love to hear them! Thanks! 

Andrea Myers Andrea Myers 3675 Points

One of my favorite ways to assess with my ESOL students is by observation. Sometimes they can't write the information or speak it, but I will allow them to draw or otherwise demonstrate it.

Sherri Cavallaro Sherri Cavallaro 675 Points