Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Co- Teaching

Elementary Science

Co- Teaching

Author Post
Brennen Doebel Brennen Doebel 80 Points

Hello,

I am Brennen Doebel and I am a pre-service teacher at Wartburg College. I would like to know how hard it is to do co-teaching with one of your fellow teachers in public school or if it is even beneficial. 

Natalie LoBianco Natalie LoBianco 3248 Points

Hello Brennen! My name is Natalie LoBianco and, like Kyle, am a pre-service teacher at the University of Northern Iowa. Similar to you, I was a little skeptical about co-teaching, thinking it would be like group projects in college: hard to manage at times, and leaves me questioning if it would be more beneficial if I could do an excellent job completing it on my own. My perspective has changed, however, through the co-teaching opportunities I have been given in a few of my college courses here at UNI.

For example, in my Teaching Elementary School Science course this semester, I was able to develop a 5-day mini-unit with three of my fellow pre-service teachers, and co-teach one of the days we developed to my fellow classmates. Developing an entire mini-unit seemed like such a daunting task to me at the beginning. There were so many components to think about along the way. These components included finding performance expectations from the Next Generation Science Standards, finding a phenomenon to drive our learning and curiosity throughout the week, creating essential questions and learning objectives from the performance expectations, identifying and addressing misconceptions the students may have about the topic area, and signifying what Disciplinary Core Ideas, Science and Engineering Practices, and Cross-Cutting Concepts made the learning three-dimensional. All of these components needed to be determined before we even began planning the five lessons.