Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Magnets in Kinder

Early Childhood

Magnets in Kinder

Author Post
Brenda Villarreal Brenda Villarreal 974 Points

Hello! I was hoping to get a little help when it comes to creating a lesson about magnets for kinder. Most of the students are tired and are not excited by the end of the day so the first class gets a good experience and the second does not. What can I do to help the second class get excited enough to participate and learn about magnets?

Michelle Biddinger Michelle Biddinger 405 Points

Hey Brenda,

I am currently a preservice teacher, and I am taking a science methods course.  One of the chapters in our course textbook is dedicated to helping educators learn how to teach about magnetism using various fun and engaging activities.  You may want to consider some of these activities to use with your second kindergarten class.  The book is called Science Experiencers for the Early Childhood Years; An Integrated Affective Approach by Mary Rivkin and Jean Harlan.