Forums

Forums / STEM / STEM- engineering and literacy

STEM

STEM- engineering and literacy

Author Post
Morgan Neathery Morgan Neathery 180 Points

My name is Morgan Neathery and I am a current college student getting my degree in elementary education. STEM instruction interests me, and I am still learning so much about it. One big idea that I think is cool is implimenting engineering along side with literacy. I am wanting to know the best way to encorporate engineering into a kindergarten class. I am currently observing and doing field experience in a kindergarten class. What is the best way to introduce engineering through a kindergarten literacy lesson?

Lauren Caldwell Lauren Caldwell 1685 Points

Hi Morgan!

I think it is awesome that you want such young kids to explore engineering. I wish this was something that my teachers had done when I was at such a young age as well! Obviously, reading books about STEM topics and engeering is a great way to get this idea rolling in these students minds. I think another great way to do this would also be to have students explore engineering topics on their own. For example, having students create ramps and seeing which ramp they can make that allows the ball to roll the furthest. This allows students to make and learn from their mistakes. I'm sure that this could be tied to a book for kindergarten students!  I also think it could be cool to have an engineer come into the class (it'd be even cooler if it was a female engineer so that young students can see a gender rather than the stereotypical gender in this position) and have them read a book about STEM or engineering to the class and talk about their career! 

Faith Slinger Faith Slinger 2470 Points

Hi Morgan,