Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Teaching Science

Elementary Science

Teaching Science

Author Post
Sarah Alonso Sarah Alonso 5710 Points

Do you feel prepared to teach science to students? If not, explain why.

Julie Wylie Julie Wylie 595 Points

My mother was a middle school science teacher for many many years; therefore, I had much exposure to science instruction, in many family and personal activities throughout my life. Anywhere we would go, she always pointed out the scientific concept that was being demonstrated before our eyes. However, I think I grew tired of this, and I began to gain interest in other subjects. Fast-forward my life, and I majored in Economics and earned a master's degree in library science. During my graduate school pursuits, I enjoyed reading many of the nonfiction texts, particularly about science! Haha! I was also asked by my principal to leave the library and go back into the classroom to teach 5th grade science, and I gladly and excitedly accepted! It was fate! Science came back around in my life! I do enjoy teaching science because kids get so excited about it, and I love telling stories of my adventures and "family field trips," and the students are enthralled! No matter what you teach, show enthusiasm, and it will reflect in your students' attitudes toward that subject as well.

Rebekah Smith Rebekah Smith 4345 Points

Hi Sarah, I do not feel as prepared as I should be to teach science. I also feel that I put science on the back burner to reading and math. If I don't get to it everyday, then ok I don't get to it. I don't like that. Rebekah

Betty Paulsell Betty Paulsell 48560 Points