Forums

Forums / Distance Learning / Distant Learning

Distance Learning

Distant Learning

Author Post
Grace Kappler Grace Kappler 330 Points

I am a current student studying Elementary Education doing most of my classes online so i'm wondering how current teachers are adjusting to fully distant learning and how they are keeping their students engaged when they are online? What programs are you using? What are some ways you had to adjust your teaching style? 

Breanne Svoboda Breanne Svoboda 70 Points

I teach high school at an independent school and we had several days worth of orientation just crowd sourcing all of the tools people have tried. Here are some of my favorites that you might check out:

If you have access to the Google Education Suite, Google Jamboards are a really neat way for students to collaborate on a virtual whiteboard. Bonus is that it integrates well with Google Classroom.

A web-based app called Hypothesis (https://web.hypothes.is/) is an interesting tool I'm using to have students annotate and engage with text collaboratively. It may not be as friendly to elementary students, but I'm not as familiar with that age group. I know some of our MS teachers are using it.

Padlet is a neat tool where students can post responses and then they can be sorted, color coded, etc. When in-person I do a lot of activities with sticky notes where students put down their questions and ideas and then we sort them, create timelines, models, etc. Padlet seems to be a good virtual tool for that. One of our 6th grade science teachers uses Padlet religiously (even when in person) to get students to post their 'wonders'.