Forums

Forums / Chemistry / Electrolysis - Help?

Chemistry

Electrolysis - Help?

Author Post
Nicole Dainty Nicole Dainty 4360 Points

Hi All, I am a middle school science teacher, and I am responsible for organizing our middle school science fair. I have one student who wants to build an electrolysis device as an engineering project this year. I explained to him that he'll have to have a safe area to do this experiment, in particular because hydrogen gas is flammable. I have reservations about this project for a middle schooler, but he is a very motivated student and he has parent support. So, I have attached his drawing of his prototype. I don't have much experience with electrolysis - it's not in my curriculum and I haven't done it since college! Does anyone have any feedback on his device or advice regarding this type of project in general? I'd appreciate any experience you can share with me! Thanks much! Nicole

Attachments

Betty Paulsell Betty Paulsell 48560 Points

As a former regional science fair director I would be sure that this is totally under parent supervision or find a mentor who has knowledge of the process to help the student. Also, when the student presents the device for display I would suggest allowing pictures and diagrams only. I did a search in the Learning Center and found a couple of web seminars and podcasts about electrolysis. Here is the link. http://learningcenter.nsta.org/search.aspx?action=quicksearch&text=electrolysis Good luck.

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92246 Points

Hi Nicole,