Forums

Forums / Next Generation Science Standards / Helping Students Who "Just Don't Get It"

Next Generation Science Standards

Helping Students Who "Just Don't Get It"

Author Post
Julia Spendio Julia Spendio 210 Points

My name is Julia and I am a future teacher! The subject in school that I always struggled with was science-I never quite seemed to grasp many of the concepts. I am wondering if any of you current and experienced teachers have any tips for me to teach other students who have a hard time grasping the concepts. It is hard to give every student one on one time so I am wondering if there are any other ways to help explain science to those students who "just don't get it?"

Ashalenia Graham Ashalenia Graham 985 Points

Hi! I felt the same way about Science and Social Studies most of my life, but moreso about Science.  Concepts in Biology, Chemistry, and Physics were so far beyond me it was something I was scared of during college.  However, after taking my Science/ SS methods courses as well as joining this site, both my content knowledge and pedegogy I feel like have improved ten fold.  Since you are a member of this site, I would reccomend adding journals for particular topics that you feel weakest in.  The webinars are great for teaching purposes and should help you in turn help those struggling students in your classroom. I attatched my personal collection of various science subjects, I hope this helps!

Chemistry Resources Collection (18 items)

STEM Resources Collection (21 items)
Elizabeth Ricke Elizabeth Ricke 343 Points

Hi Julia!