Forums

Forums / General Science and Teaching / Science Activities

General Science and Teaching

Science Activities

Author Post
Alice Arrieta Alice Arrieta 555 Points

As a preservice teacher, I have noticed that when doing my field experience hours, sometimes it is difficult for teachers to complete a science activity/lesson because they are so focused in either math or reading.  For future references, would it be ideal to do science activities everyday? I feel like they are so motivating, but also time consuming. How can I manage time? 

Farah Aziz Farah Aziz 1035 Points

I agree that teachers focus more on math and reading, and often science is not emphasized as much in the classroom. For my lessons, I chose to do science activities to teach students the importance of science topics. If you do not have much time, you can have a read aloud on a science topic, have students discuss various ideas, and allow them to explore through mini activities. You could also try breaking up science lessons into several parts over several days so that you have time for other subjects. Best of luck!

Dinaz Lokhandwalla Dinaz Lokhandwalla 1115 Points

I think it is important to do every subject every day. I think that when we focus on just one subject we are telling the students that the latter is not as important. In older grades there are checkpoints for many of the subjects, including science. The districts are holding teachers responsible for incorporating science in the curriculum. There are TEKS that teachers are supposed to be at every week. I really think that having science exposure for students is very important and I think we have to do our best to incorporate science lessons and hands on activities in the classroom. Even in the younger grades where there are no checkpoints, we would be doing a disservice to teachers that have our students the next year.

Anh-Thu Nguyen Anh-Thu Nguyen 735 Points