Forums

Forums / Informal Science / Science at home

Informal Science

Science at home

Author Post
Hannah Snyder Hannah Snyder 45 Points

Hello! I am a student in an early elementary program. My question is how do we encourage students to take science home when they do not have the resources for books or other ways of resources? Becuase anyone can test and ask questions just by interacting with the physical workd, but how do we give them access to finding answers to those questions if they do not have the ability to afford books or devices with internet. 

Emily Faulconer Emily Faulconer 5755 Points

Not all home explorations require books or internet access. There are so many experiments students can do at home that require next to no resources. If you're worried about access to some of the basic materials, you could provide materials for students who need it, but I know that can get expensive fast depending on your class sizes! Maybe build it into your supply purchases and students put together their home kits at school so that way everyone gets it and the school funds it? Its been a while since I taught in the public school system. I remember having a very low budget - but most of these suggestions seem like they would fit what I recall of the budget. 

https://mommypoppins.com/kids/50-easy-science-experiments-for-kids-fun-educational-activities-using-household-stuff 

https://sciencebob.com/category/experiments/ 

You could also do something like a science scavenger hunt where they simply look for examples in their world (like soap dissolving or gas bubbles from soda) 

Olivia Pederson Olivia Pederson 30 Points

Hi Hannah!