Forums

Forums / Life Science / How do you teach ecology?

Life Science

How do you teach ecology?

Author Post
Ruth Hutson Ruth Hutson 64325 Points

Fall is upon us where I live and my high school biology class is starting an unit in ecology.  We try to incorporate some field work so that students get the full experience.  I'm curious to know how other life science teachers teach ecology especially the NGSS standard HS-LS2 which is Ecosystems: Interactions, Energy, and Dynamics.  Would any of you be inclined to share how they address this standard?  Do you use field work, data sets, computer simulations, or some other method of delivery? 

Pamela Dupre Pamela Dupre 92369 Points

I'm an elementary teacher so I can't respond with 100% surety. Have you done a search in the Explore All Resources tab? Also, check out: https://ngss.nsta.org/

for resources in your grade level.

Ruth Hutson Ruth Hutson 64325 Points

Hi Pamela, 

Thanks for responding.  I actually did check out both the Learning Center and NGSS@NSTA hub first before starting this thread.  I found a lot of computer simulations to aid in the teaching of this standard.  What field studies I did find were coastal in nature. I live in the Midwest and I was hoping that educators would have access to some data sets that might be able to share or they might have an unique field study that they have their students conduct before moving onto something in the classroom.  

Have a great day,

Ruth

Ashley Dang Ashley 2718 Points

Ruth,