Forums

Forums / Earth and Space Science / K-1: Out of my comfort zone

Earth and Space Science

K-1: Out of my comfort zone

Author Post
Cynthia Lund Cynthia Lund 3635 Points

Hello everyone, I am a pre-service teacher at Idaho State University. This year I am in a Science Methods class that requires me to teach lessons to students that are in kindergarten and first grade. I am excited but VERY nervous. You see, my target age is middle school and I have very little experience with students younger than third grade. I am nervous not only because of my inexperience but students this age tend to be afraid of me. I have this huge personality. I talk loudly, laugh a lot and loud, and have a hard time not being sarcastic. I just can’t help it. I am looking for suggestions from those of you out there that have taught science to K-1 students. Anything would be helpful, even if it is just some encouraging words. Thank you!

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92246 Points

Hi Cynthia and welcome to the discussion threads!
Peggy Ashbrook is an author of gobs of science articles geared toward early childhood - her articles are part of a monthly series in Science & Children called 'The Early Years'. I did an advanced search and put her name in as author, and for key word, I used 'earth science', since you posted this in the Earth and Space Science Forum. 15 articles that she had written popped up. Try it and let us know if you need help.
Here is one example: The Early Years: Adding Up the Rain
I think you will find her lesson plans and ideas very helpful.
How exciting that you are 'broadening' your horizons to include early elementary, too. I am a middle school teacher with over a quarter of a century of experience. I think if I were to do it over again, I would want to spend some of my time in the younger grades, too. Every grade level has its own challenges and built-in rewards! Best of luck in your lesson planning :-)