Forums

Forums / Chemistry / Low Level Chemistry Classes

Chemistry

Low Level Chemistry Classes

Author Post
Lauren Eltringham Lauren Eltringham 1130 Points

Hi Everyone I am a pre service teacher currently doing my student teaching, and I need some advice regarding teaching strategies for lower level students. My one class is full of students who are very apathetic and have essentially no background knowledge. What are some effective teaching strategies you have used in order to help these kinds of students? Thanks!

Betty Paulsell Betty Paulsell 48560 Points

Let me first ask you a few questions that will help us narrow down your needs so we can give you more detailed suggestions. What grade are you teaching? What exactly do you mean by "low level chemistry"? How many students do you have? I am sure we will be better able to help you with these details and anymore you can add. There are lots of us out here who like helping future teachers!!!

Lauren Eltringham Lauren Eltringham 1130 Points

Thanks for your reply! I'm sure more details would make it much easier for everyone

What grade are you teaching?
They typically take chemistry their junior year, but I do have a few sophomores that are taking it early.

What exactly do you mean by 'low level chemistry'?
Essentially these are students who probably would not take chemistry if they were not required. Most do not have special needs or things like that, but they are typically below their peers academically.

How many students do you have?
20-24 students in each class

Thanks again!

Betty Paulsell Betty Paulsell 48560 Points