Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Transitioning from STEM to STEAM in the elementary classroom

Elementary Science

Transitioning from STEM to STEAM in the elementary classroom

Author Post
Emma Sprandel Emma Sprandel 515 Points

Hi everyone, Recently I have been seeing more articles being published about STEAM being integrated into classrooms. Being an art person myself, I love the idea of STEAM becoming a part of the classroom. I am a pre-service teacher at the moment (student teaching in one year) and am trying to learn as much as I can about STEM.  My questions to current teachers are: 1) How often do you integrate STEAM (the art aspect) into your classroom? Every lesson? Once a week? 2) what are some difficulties you have found with transitioning from STEM to STEAM? 3) How has STEAM benefited or hurt your classroom and the learning environment? 4) What is one unit you particularly liked teaching using STEAM ? 5) If you had the option to integrate STEM or STEAM which would you choose to integrate and why? 

Pamela Dupre Pam Dupre 92369 Points

I've discussed this very topic with my educational development leader. The danger we run into when we say we are teaching art integrated into STEM/STEAM is that; first if we aren't doing art on a regular basis then it isn't really STEAM, the other issue is that we could theoretically lose funding for our art classes. Some districts may look at it as a way to cut funding for the arts and save money in the school system.

Peggy Ashbrook Margaret Ashbrook 10953 Points

Planning STEM learning that incorporates science, engineering, and math while developing or using technology doesn't exclude learning about art or topics in social studies, and social-emotional and reading skills. Also, a label doesn’t make a lesson a “STEM” lesson, it’s what the children do and learn that makes it STEM.