Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Preservice Teacher - Incorporating Science to Other Subjects

New Teachers

Preservice Teacher - Incorporating Science to Other Subjects

Author Post
Lauren Wilson Lauren Wilson 200 Points

Hello Everyone! I am a preservice teacher studying Elementary Education at the University of Arkansas. I am interested to ask you all how you have incorporated science in your classroom into other subject? What successes have you had and what things have you tried that may not have worked? Thank you for your help!

Pamela Dupre Pamela Dupre 92369 Points

Lauren, I am an elementary teacher. I teach in Louisiana. I can always find a science connection no matter what subject I am teaching. For over 20 years I taught 4th, 5th, and 2nd. For the last five years I have been a traveling STEM teacher and most recently, I am a lead teacher and work with all grade levels. The 2nd graders were reading Ox Cart Man and we discussed how Maple Syrup is made. We used an Audubon Field Guide on North American Trees to find out where Maple Trees grow. I even brought in some Maple Syrup for them to smell, taste, and make other observations about. Then I asked who had tried Steen's Syrup. It is made in LA from sugar cane. I brought some in for them to try. It has a much stronger flavor than Maple Syrup. 

We also discussed transportation and how people good the things they needed during the time of the Ox Cart Man compared to the current time. 

The more connections you can make cross curricular and connecting things relevant to students' lives, the better they understand and retain the information. 

Lauren Caldwell Lauren Caldwell 1685 Points

Hi Lauren!