Forums

Forums / Evaluation and Assessment / Formative Assessment

Evaluation and Assessment

Formative Assessment

Author Post
Sue Garcia Sue Garcia 42675 Points

Who ever has not used Paige Keeley's Formative Probes Books need to! I have been using them for two years now and have found them to be absolutely wonderful. I have just attended a 2 day workshop with her and found out why they are so effective. They are designed specifically to address areas that students either have troubles with or have preconceived notions. She uses the latest research and science standards to develop her probes. I give a probe at the beginning of a Unit. Students answer in their Journal in pencil. I then have several students read theirs aloud-I use the Popsicle method to select the students. Their is no "correct answer" at this point and I do not add anything to the discussion. Later in the Unit, we reread our answers. Answers are then open to discussion and students are allowed to change their answers-but in ink. I finally ask if any student would like to share their answers with the class. Again, allowing students to change or revise their answers. I assess by putting stickers on work that has shown effort and improvement---not on "correctness". When the "grade" does not involve right or wrong, they are not afraid to reach and try something outside of their comfort zone. Also, because they are allowed to revise their work, they listen and participate more fully. This takes time, but a teachers job is to guide their students in learning how to think. One last comment-Paige Keeley writes a Column in Children and Science every Journal issue about Formative Assessment. Summer 2011 of Children and Science has a great article about assessments. I highly recommend that all teachers read it!

Sue Garcia Sue Garcia 42675 Points