Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Pre-K Science Activities

Early Childhood

Pre-K Science Activities

Author Post
Daisy Gomez Daisy Gomez 615 Points

Hello everyone! Does anybody know of any fun and engaging science activities for Pre-K students? 

Alexandria Monahan Alexandria Monahan 380 Points

Hi Daisy!

I am currently a pre-service teacher, but I actually work in a daycare when I'm not at school. I end up spending time in our Preschool room fairly frequently, it's one of my favorite ages to work with! One science activity that my students really enjoy making and playing with is oobleck! It is super easy to make, and you could have the kids help with putting the ingredients in and mixing it! 

Hope this helps a little!

Lexi Monahan

Ximena Chavez Ximena Chavez 410 Points

Hi!

I currently work at a drop-off center with pre-schoolers and kids around the age of 3-5. A fun and engaging science activity we had them recently do was make bread! We had them make the dough in class, and they were able to take home and bake it. This eases children into learning about chemical reactions and the science behind baking and using yeast! I hope this helps. 

Best,

Ximena

Mayra Lopez Mayra Lopez 445 Points

For Pre-K students the rain in a jar science experiment is fun and engaging plus it helps with their fine motor skills. You will need a jar, a small cups, food coloring, pipettes, shaving cream and water. Mix some water with food coloring in small cups, then fill the jar with water about 3/4 full. When the kids are ready to do the experiment add a bunch of shaving cream in the jar that was filled with water. The kids will be able to pick the colored water and use the pipettes to squirt the colored solution on top of the shaving cream cloud. The water will make its way through the shaving cream and into the water. 

Anne Lowry Anne Lowry 8543 Points