Forums

Forums / Distance Learning / Distance Learning

Distance Learning

Distance Learning

Author Post
Emily Banken Emily Banken 590 Points

Hello all, I am a preservice teacher in my fourth year of college. As I am getting ready to enter the classroom as a teacher, I have been thinking a lot about how education has had to change over the last few months. I believe that hands-on learning in STEM classes is very important, but can be a challenge with the online learning that is happening because of COVID-19. What resources are helpful so that students are able to have some of those experiences while learning remotely?

Emily Faulconer Emily Faulconer 5755 Points

The answer to this is going to vary by grade level and STEM discipline. There are many safe 'kitchen chemistry' activities children of many ages can participate in safely. If you provide more information on grade level and topic, I'm sure there will be some really interesting suggestions from the community. 

Makayla Schluter Makayla Schluter 515 Points

Hello Emily! 

I am also a pre-service teacher and I think your question is a great one to pose. Obviously, we have to first consider the resources available to our students' families. I think it's great to have students do some experiments at home with supplies we 'assume' most households have but we would have to be mindful of these assumptions. Perhaps if you could create packets of supplies to be picked up or dropped off, students could complete some hands-on activities. There are many websites (a few links provided below) that offer fun and engaging activities that are done with easy-to-find supplies. 

Also, I would suggest that teachers complete demonstrations for their students. Even though the barrier of the screen may prove to lessen the usual excitement, science demonstrations are still engaging and set up the platform for critical thinking and inquiry.