Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / How to Make Elementary Science Exciting

Elementary Science

How to Make Elementary Science Exciting

Author Post
Christina Isakson Christina Isakson 2615 Points

Hello,

I'm an Elementary Education student about to graduate. I've taught a few science lessons in classrooms, and though I like science I feel like my delivery of the lesson can be very flat or boring sometimes as I'm not very enthusiatic about some of the science topics I teach. I've had students in past field classrooms say that their least favorite subject is math/social studies/etc. because their teacher wasn't excited to teach it, so I know students can tell when you're not into the lesson either. How do I make sure the lessons are exciting or interesting for the students when I may not be that excited about them?

Brittany Hammes Brittany Hammes 2665 Points

Hello! I am currently studying Early childhood and elementary education. My professors have taught me multiple ways to make science exciting in the elementary classroom. One very important element is making sure students get out of their seats and are not just listening to a lecture the whole lesson. Incorporating hands-on activities will give students the excitement you are looking for. They can collaborate with their peers and test their hypotheses. Technology is also a very big factor with students today. Most students will be familiar with using technology and most are also interested in it. Technology can also be hands-on, but is much more exciting than paper and pencil every day. Lastly, it is important to focus on what your students are interested in. Always take an opportunity to bring in their interests to activities in school. This will ensure most students will be excited to start the activity and stay engaged. I hope this helps! 

Mason Foster Mason Foster 3015 Points

Hello,