Forums

Forums / Physical Science / Kindergarten Physical Science

Physical Science

Kindergarten Physical Science

Author Post
Sara Crawford Sara Crawford 180 Points

Hello everyone! I am a preservice teacher at IPFW. I have an assignment to teach a lesson about matter as a part of a larger unit covering misconceptions about the topic. I am covering the misconception that a football is not a solid. However, I think that my students might have issues wrapping their minds around the concept of matter since they are so young and this is a rather abstract idea. Does anyone have any tips about how I can successfully introduce the idea of states of matter? Anything you can offer would be helpful. Thank you!

Matt Bobrowsky Matt Bobrowsky 6410 Points

One approach is to point out that a solid has a definite size and shape.  If you put a solid in a container, the solid doesn't change its shape to match the container, and it doesn't change its size. So, for instance, if you put a football in a big punch bowl, the football won't change its shape to match the bowl.  And it doesn't change its size.

A liquid, in contrast, will take the shape of whatever container it's in.  However, the liquid will not change its size (volume).

A gas takes both the shape and size of the container it's in.  That's hard to visualize since most gases are invisible, but you could add some smoke to the air in a container, such as a jar with a lid (e.g., by lighting and then blowing out a candle to make a little smoke).  They can then see that the air carries the smoke particles to all parts of the container.  Thus the gas -- air in this case -- fills the container.