Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / How to get Students involved in science

Elementary Science

How to get Students involved in science

Author Post
Francisco Garcia Francisco Garcia 325 Points

One of my biggest questions is how to get the younger elementary students involved in science. Should we do more hands on activities, or should we watch videos? As well as having them participate in the environment.

Diane Teriaky DIANE TERIAKY 340 Points

This is a very good question, I have been wondering the same thing. Firstly, I think it's important to have a positive attitude towards science. I also think it is important to have the students do hands on activities that are fun and interactive.

Eddy Martinez Eddy Martinez 1440 Points

Hellos Francisco, I am a student teacher in an ELA/Social Studies classroom. I have had many conversations with the science teacher across the hall about what it takes to keep the students involved in science. He has told me that he tries to make all the parts of his lessons engaging. Some days he has the students doing hands-on activities and other days they watch a video or listen to music. What I have also noticed is that the teacher is very enthusiastic and animated with the students. This also seems to keep the students interested. I hope this can help.

Onrumpa Kumnuanek Onrumpa Kumnuanek 520 Points

In my opinion, the important thing for elementary students is promoting them to have a positive attitude toward science first. I think should let them play and learn, they will learn from what they play. An important role of a teacher is to be a facilitator, ask some questions to let them talk or share what they learn from playing.

Gabe Kraljevic Gabe Kraljevic 4564 Points