Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / 5E lesson plan

Elementary Science

5E lesson plan

Author Post
Julissa Ramos Julissa Ramos 765 Points

Hi. My name is Julissa. I am a student at FIU and majoring in elementary education. I was recently presented to the concept of a 5E lesson plan format. I’ve reasearched through the collections and articles on this website and found lots of useful information. Although, I would like to read about how others have incorporated this style in a classroom and what kind of reactions have come from the students. If anyone has experience with different ages/grade and what’s the similiarities and differences.

Jannet Garnica Jannet Garnica 780 Points

Hi Julissa, My name is Jannet and I am currently a student teacher. This is my first year learning about the 5E lesson plan. One of our assignments in Science Methods was to create a 5E lesson plan and teach it. Although it may seem a little complicated to create, the students learn and enjoy lessons with this type of format. Students love to explore the materials without knowing they are figuring out the concept on their own. This website provides many different 5E lessons you can do in your own classroom. Overall the 5E lesson plan beats the basic lecture and answer questions at the end of the lecture format.

Sophia Vincent Sophia Vincent 190 Points

Hi Jannet! I am a preservice teacher and will be teaching my first 5E lesson plan for my Teaching Science course this semester. Is this lesson plan model effective for ELLs as well? Do you have any suggesstions for using this lesson plan model when working with ELLs? Thank you! 

Hina Anwar Hina Anwar 345 Points