Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Combining Science with Social Studies?

Elementary Science

Combining Science with Social Studies?

Author Post
Brianna Salmond Brianna Salmond 455 Points

As a pre-service teacher, I am always trying to think of new ways to incorporate lessons that can cross subjects. Recently, I’ve done lessons on Social Studies and I would like to know if anyone has ever combined science and Social Studies in a lesson? What ways or topics could you cross? I was thinking more about the History of Science, but how can I make that fun for Elementary students? 

Hannah James Hannah James 115 Points

Brianna,

I am also a pre-service teacher from Iowa and we talk a lot about cross-curricular lessons, especially when talking about Science and Social studies as classrooms are seeing less and less time allotted for those two subject areas. I'm not sure what your state standards are like but some of Iowa's Social Studies standards talk about resources and the influence on migration which could easily be linked to talking about resources, where we get our resources, and even could tie into recycling/global warming and what happens we lose resources. NGSS has multiple standards that relate to resources as well (K-ESS3-1, K-ESS3-3, and 3-LS4-4)

I would check your state standards and see what Social Studies standards you have that could easily link to the NGSS standards. 

Hannah James '20 Elementary Education
Science, Special Education, and Reading Endorsements
Volunteer Action Center Student Director
Phi Eta Sigma Service Chair
NSTA Wartburg Chapter President
Kappa Delta Pi Vice-President

Sandra Yarema Sandy Yarema 2480 Points

I've had success in using curriculum supplements, such as Project Wild, Project Learning Tree, and Project WET/WILD Aquatic.