Forums

Forums / New Teachers / How to incorporate textbooks with hands-on learning

New Teachers

How to incorporate textbooks with hands-on learning

Author Post
Gianna Petrucci Gianna Petrucci 680 Points

Hi all! 

I am a pre-service teacher looking for some advice on how to incorperate more hands on learing along with textbooks. I know that my observations in the science portion of the class focuses heavily on what the tetbook says, and students basically just read out of the book and then talk about what they have read. This way of teaching/learning is probably the most condusive to the very limited time they have. 

But I am curious as to more interactive ways of teaching science. Science is a very interesting subject, but almost all of the students show little interest or completely zone out. I think for that particular group of kids, something more interactive would make learning science concepts so much more fun. 

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92246 Points

Hi Gianna,

You bring up an important concern that many elementary teachers have when they are given a science textbook and no professional development on how to incorporate the reading material with other resources that might be available either in the way of kits or online resources through the text book companies.  There are a few online science textooks now that attempt to include a plethora of resources that are often daunting to try to digest in order to implement.