Forums

Forums / Physical Science / Physics on-line simulations?

Physical Science

Physics on-line simulations?

Author Post
Vanessa Cannon Vanessa Cannon 1660 Points

I'm new to the school I'm teaching at and finding there is very little equipment for a lab. Even a lab as simple as Newton's laws. While I'm building my personal supply of odds and ends for these labs I was wondering... Does anyone have good websites for simulations? There are some good ones on the Sci pacs here but I was looking for some others if there are ideas. Thanks! Vanessa

Ken Liu Ken Liu 2000 Points

The university of colorado has a great site for simulations for many kinds of disciplines. Most of them even have lesson plans that accompany them. The website is... http://phet.colorado.edu Have fun with them! Ken Liu

Patricia Rourke Patricia Rourke 45925 Points

Ken shared a good site with you and you might also look at some of the physics simulations developed at Davidson College. These simulations have been used and improved upon for decades. Check out their archive site, too http://physics.bu.edu/~duffy/classroom.html Also, don't be shy about letting a search engine find some simulations dor you. The U of Oregon has some great ones as does North Carolina. For additional help, check out what is offered in various areas at the Exploratorium in California. http://www.exploratorium.edu/

Maria Nogueron Maria Nogueron 1555 Points

I like the phet site. used for students with attendnace problems; instead of using make up labs I just assigned teh simulation BUT nothing beats a hands-on activity. Check the NSTA store for Take Home Physics book, lots of good inexpensive ideas.

Sandy Gady Sandy Gady 43175 Points