Forums

Forums / Life Science / Life Cycle Activities

Life Science

Life Cycle Activities

Author Post
Holly Johnson Holly Johnson 1800 Points

My name is Holly Johnson. I am a preservice teacher from Indiana University. Does anyone have any ideas for life cycle activities to do with 3rd graders, other than butterflies and frogs?

Cris DeWolf Cris DeWolf 11965 Points

Have you considered plants? Wisconsin Fast Plants are fairly easy to work with. Here is one example of an activity on their website: http://www.fastplants.org/how_to_grow/pollinating.php

Ruth Hutson Ruth Hutson 64325 Points

Many supermarkets also carry a mushroom growing kit. You could have your students look at the life cycle of a mushroom. My high school biology class attempted to grow oyster mushrooms using a kit from Back to the Roots. At one time, the company was donating mushroom kits to elementary schools. You might try to contact them and see if they are still doing it. We placed the kit in a cool place in the classroom. Students misted it a couple of times a day. We also took a daily picture to show how the culture changed over time. At the end of the month, we downloaded all of the images into iMovie and made a "movie" to show how the mushroom culture had changed. You could do the same thing with fast plants like Cris mentioned.

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92246 Points

Hi Holly, Piggybacking off Cris and Ruth's ideas... the Alstromeria or Peruvian lily is a flower that is inexpensive and easy to find in many grocery stores. One big bunch usually has enough flowers for a class of 25 students. By having students complete a flower dissection, you can teach pollination and fertilization; then have the student open up the ovaries of the pistils to expose the seeds. Finally, you could have the students plant seeds and watch them grow over time - to complete a flowering plant life cycle. Radish seeds grow fast if you don't want to purchase the more expensive Fast plants. Carolyn