Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Welcome! New teachers and mentors

New Teachers

Welcome! New teachers and mentors

Author Post
Mary Bigelow Mary Bigelow 10275 Points

Welcome to this forum for new teachers, mentors, and anyone who has ideas to share! Feel free to ask questions or offer suggestions by starting a new thread or responding to an existing one. We'll also check the content-specific forums for issues that might be relevant for new teachers.

Susanne Hokkanen Susanne Hokkanen 79520 Points

I started my 5th year of science teaching this fall. As a former new teacher and not quite a veteran teacher yet, I would like to suggest the NSTA New Science Teacher Academy as a potential resource for newer science teachers. Here is a link to their webpage: http://www.nsta.org/academy/ The NSTA New Science Teacher Academy provides a wealth of resources for newer teachers. It was an amazing experience!!

Garth Rehberg Garth Rehberg 2775 Points

Hi everyone, I am a prospective teacher and I am student teaching the start of 2013. Due to the schedule and the emphasis on math and english, I will not be given more than 20 minutes of science. How I am I supposed to have students do real science using inquiry and problem based learning with only 20 minutes?

Garth Rehberg Garth Rehberg 2775 Points

Hi everyone, I am a prospective teacher and I am student teaching the start of 2013. Due to the schedule and the emphasis on math and english, I will not be given more than 20 minutes of science. How I am I supposed to have students do real science using inquiry and problem based learning with only 20 minutes?

Susanne Hokkanen Susanne Hokkanen 79520 Points